Skip to content
Orkney Islands Counts — Orkney Islands, in numbers.Local help →

Orkney Islands, in numbers

People and living standards

Orkney Islands council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Orkney Islands council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 19,520 in 1991 to 21,920 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Orkney Islands council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 19,730 people in 1996; 21,920 people in 2025. 11.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Orkney Islands council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199119,520
199219,670
199319,710
199419,750
199519,810
199619,730
199719,770
199819,590
199919,420
200019,290
200119,220
200219,330
200319,540
200419,830
200520,070
200620,340
200720,580
200820,740
200920,940
201021,220
201121,420
201221,500
201321,510
201421,510
201521,520
201621,640
201721,730
201821,830
201921,870
202021,970
202122,030
202222,030
202322,010
202422,000
202521,920
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Orkney Islands council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 4,174 people in 1996; 3,346 people in 2025. 19.8% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Orkney Islands council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
19914,182
19924,238
19934,244
19944,220
19954,252
19964,174
19974,169
19984,063
19993,964
20003,894
20013,815
20023,818
20033,780
20043,760
20053,765
20063,710
20073,673
20083,657
20093,650
20103,640
20113,597
20123,555
20133,507
20143,485
20153,454
20163,454
20173,475
20183,477
20193,533
20203,534
20213,534
20223,489
20233,474
20243,459
20253,346
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Orkney Islands council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 12,391 people in 1996; 12,697 people in 2025. 2.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Orkney Islands council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199112,137
199212,300
199312,336
199412,400
199512,404
199612,391
199712,426
199812,354
199912,275
200012,195
200112,182
200212,242
200312,404
200412,628
200512,720
200612,986
200713,120
200813,179
200913,259
201013,423
201113,554
201213,503
201313,459
201413,337
201513,294
201613,272
201713,244
201813,210
201913,120
202013,110
202113,090
202213,022
202312,942
202412,850
202512,697
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Orkney Islands council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 3,165 people in 1996; 5,877 people in 2025. 85.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Orkney Islands council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
19913,201
19923,132
19933,130
19943,130
19953,154
19963,165
19973,175
19983,173
19993,181
20003,201
20013,223
20023,270
20033,356
20043,442
20053,585
20063,644
20073,787
20083,904
20094,031
20104,157
20114,269
20124,442
20134,544
20144,688
20154,772
20164,914
20175,011
20185,143
20195,217
20205,326
20215,406
20225,519
20235,594
20245,691
20255,877
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2022 census · 21,977 residents
How this census compares with other years

Scotland’s census was held in 2022. These are native Scottish broad categories, with African separate from Caribbean or Black. The national term minority ethnic also includes some White groups, so it must not be read as non-White. Privacy-adjusted cells can differ from published totals. Categories containing an undefined source dash are unavailable pending a verified aggregate release or symbol definition.

Ethnic group · Orkney Islands · 2022
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White: Total21,61698.4%
Mixed or multiple ethnic groupNot availableNot available
Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: TotalNot availableNot available
African: TotalNot availableNot available
Caribbean or Black: TotalNot availableNot available
Other ethnic groups: TotalNot availableNot available

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 21,349 residents
How this census compares with other years

The 2011 UK table retains its own category structure, including a separate Traveller category. It is not automatically comparable with later national census categories or modern district boundaries.

Ethnic group · Orkney Islands · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White21,19099.3%
Gypsy / Traveller / Irish Traveller30%
Mixed / Multiple ethnic group390.2%
Asian / Asian British: Indian180.1%
Asian / Asian British: Pakistani150.1%
Asian / Asian British: Bangladeshi70%
Asian / Asian British: Chinese180.1%
Asian / Asian British: Other Asian310.1%
Black / African / Caribbean / Black British170.1%
Other Ethnic Group110.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 2.8% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Orkney Islands council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £6,790 per person in 1997; £25,234 per person in 2024. 271.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Orkney Islands council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19976,790
19987,449
19998,003
20008,713
20019,343
20029,451
20038,615
20049,865
200510,002
200611,303
200711,949
200812,247
200913,438
201014,521
201116,531
201216,363
201316,411
201416,652
201517,078
201617,432
201717,559
201817,928
201918,445
202018,676
202119,404
202219,889
202322,767
202425,234
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Orkney Islands council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -36% in 1997; -2.8% in 2024. 33.2 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Orkney Islands council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-36
1998-31.2
1999-29.3
2000-26.8
2001-24.5
2002-25.3
2003-33.9
2004-27.3
2005-28.9
2006-22.8
2007-22.1
2008-22.2
2009-16.1
2010-10.1
20111.5
2012-3.1
2013-6.3
2014-7.9
2015-10.2
2016-9.5
2017-10.9
2018-12.2
2019-12.5
2020-11
2021-11.2
2022-13.4
2023-6.9
2024-2.8
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults with no qualifications

17.6%

20 March 2022 · Orkney Islands council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator. Scottish degree-or-higher excludes HNC/HND and is kept distinct from the wider Level 4+ measure used elsewhere.

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

Not available

20 March 2022 · Orkney Islands council area

Show the workings

All usual residents

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

Average home price

£214,000

July 2026 · Orkney Islands council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

Some Scottish ethnicity categories are withheld because their source output areas contain undefined dash markers: Mixed or multiple ethnic group; Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: Total; African: Total; Caribbean or Black: Total; Other ethnic groups: Total. The markers have not been interpreted as zero.

A verified 2001 Scottish ethnicity snapshot on this exact area code is not included in this release.

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.